SLEC holds meet on SPMRM/ NRUM

Kohima : The State Level Empowered Committee (SLEC) meeting on Shyama Prasad Mukherji Mission (SPMRM)/ National Rurban Mission (NRuM) was held on June 9 at the Chief Secretary’s conference hall under the chairmanship of State Chief Secretary, Pankaj Kumar.

With Rural Development Department as the State nodal agency, the mission aims at development of cluster villages that preserve and nurture the essence of the rural community life with focus on equity and inclusiveness without compromising with the facilities perceived essentially urban in nature, thus creating a cluster of “Rurban Villages.”
It may be mentioned that out of the 20 sub-districts in Nagaland, Pedi (Ngawlwa) cluster under Peren district was approved by the Government of India in the first phase under this mission.The meeting deliberated on the main guidelines of the scheme, what has been done so far and what is required of the different line departments.

Chief Secretary Pankaj Kumar, in his chairman’s remark, lauded the efforts of the department for having started the implementation of schemes in the villages after thorough consultations with the villages. Towards this end, he urged the department to see that the implementation of schemes compliment the preparation done.

He advised that a study can be done on any suggestion about the schemes or change of places, members of the committee and come in terms with the guidelines about what changes should be done.

Kumar further proposed holding the next SLEC meeting at the project site so that the members can also witness the schemes which are already being implemented.

Making a power point presentation, Secretary of Rural Development, Kelei Zeliang said the objective of National Rurban Mission (NRuM) is to stimulate local economic development, enhance basic services, create well planned Rurban cluster and also for bridging the rural-urban divide viz, economic, technological and those related to facilities and services.

He informed that the cost of a cluster will be based on the requirements identified by the Integrated Cluster Action Plan (ICAP), prepared by the States for the cluster and approved by the Empowered Committee of the Ministry of Rural Development.

Zeliang said the mission will cover programmes according to the needs of the selected cluster such as community hall buildings for all six villages, upgradation of schools, inter-village road connectivity, coverage of village streets with lights, solid and liquid waste management, water supply and digital literacy etc. Towards this end, he called upon the concerned line departments to contribute in whichever way possible to make the mission a success, be it monetary, technical guidance or man power.

The time period for this project is 3 years, which will be followed by a period of 10 years for maintenance.
The meeting was attended by officials from Rural Development and representative from various line departments including Works & Housing, Agriculture, Health & Family Welfare, PWD, PHED, Education, IT&C, Transport, Urban Development, Labour and Employment, Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

Source: Eastern Mirror

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.